120 S. Olive Ave., Suite 402
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Category Archives: DUI / Drunk Driving

Charges of DUI With Property Damage

Charges of DUI With Property Damage

Jessica Marksz needed a drink. That, she told Palm Beach County sheriff’s deputies, was why she had left her car and walked to a nearby Publix Super Market on Thursday after a crash in which she is alleged to have driven the wrong way down a one-way street and hit a car. Deputies weren’t impressed, especially when one caught up with her picking up a bottle of wine. They arrested her on charges of DUI with property damage and leaving the scene of an accident. She was released later that day from the Palm Beach County Jail after on $3,000 bond. Every year, impaired motorists cost U.S. taxpayers an estimated $51 billion dollars in drunk driving property damage. With such staggering statistics, it’s no surprise that lawmakers are under enormous… […]

| Tagged , , | Comments Off on Charges of DUI With Property Damage

Palm Beach County New DUI Program For 1st Time Offenders

Palm Beach County New DUI Program For 1st Time Offenders

For years, local drivers facing a DUI charge for the first time had two options – take their case to trial and try to get acquitted, or take a plea and deal with the expensive consequences of having a DUI conviction permanently on their records. But now, thanks to a new program Palm Beach County prosecutors have instituted, some first-time DUI offenders are getting the chance to avoid the stigma of a DUI conviction through a 12-month monitoring program that is among the first of its kind in the state. Source The new diversion program– billed as a practical approach to these kinds of cases– was instituted for newly filed cases in early July. Prosecutors offered the program to parties in previously filed cases during the month of June. If… […]

| Tagged , , | Comments Off on Palm Beach County New DUI Program For 1st Time Offenders

DUI Related Crimes, Florida DUI Laws and Penalties

DUI Related Crimes, Florida DUI Laws and Penalties

Driving under the influence (DUI) is defined as operating a motor vehicle while impaired with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08 or higher, a chemical substance, or a controlled substance (316.193, F.S.). A DUI will remain on your driving record for 75 years. DUI 1st Offense 1st DUI – 180 days to a 1-year revocation effective on conviction date. Or, first offense DUI with Serious Injury – at least a 3-year revocation. Before expiration of the revocation period, you may apply for a hardship license in the county where you live. DUI School completion and treatment, if referred, is required. You then can apply for a hardship license in any Administrative Reviews Office If you wait to reinstate your license until your revocation period ends, proof of enrollment or… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on DUI Related Crimes, Florida DUI Laws and Penalties

Florida DUI, Refusing To Submit To a Breath Test

Florida DUI, Refusing To Submit To a Breath Test

Sobriety checkpoint in Miramar planned Friday A sobriety checkpoint will be in effect from 9 p.m. Friday through 3 a.m. Saturday for motorists traveling along the 3600 block of South University Drive in Miramar. Police officers from Miramar, Pembroke Pines, Davie and Hollywood, as well as deputies from the Broward Sheriff’s Office, will be watching for drivers who are operating their vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol and will enforce other traffic-related offenses. Source. Sobriety checkpoints are predetermined locations, on roads, where police officers can halt motor vehicles and observe drivers for signs of intoxication. The purpose of these roadblocks is to discourage people from driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A driver that is stopped may be asked to perform a field sobriety test,… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on Florida DUI, Refusing To Submit To a Breath Test

DUI Homicide and DUI Manslaughter Case in Palm Beach County

DUI Homicide and DUI Manslaughter Case in Palm Beach County

DUI Homicide and DUI Manslaughter does not mean decades in jail if the case is properly postured by an experienced Criminal Defense Attorney. Criminal Defense Attorney, Andrew D. Stine, was able to secure a plea and acceptance of the plea agreement, by the Circuit Court Judge, on May 21, 2013 of: One (1) Year in the Palm Beach County Jail; followed by Two (2) Years of House Arrest; and Five (5) Years of Probation; for his client who pled guilty in a DUI Manslaughter and DUI Homicide case in Palm Beach County, Florida. In case number 2012 CF 005417AXXXMB the driver of the vehicle, represented by West Palm Beach Criminal Defense Attorney Stine, was under the influence of alcoholic beverages with a blood alcohol level greater than .08, when he… […]

| Tagged , | Comments Off on DUI Homicide and DUI Manslaughter Case in Palm Beach County

DUI Arrests and The National Transportation Safety Board’s Recommendation To Lower BAC Level

DUI Arrests and The National Transportation Safety Board’s Recommendation To Lower BAC Level

WASHINGTON – The National Transportation Safety Board voted to recommend to states that they lower the blood-alcohol content that constitutes drunken driving. Currently, all 50 states have set a BAC level of .08, reflecting the percentage of alcohol, by volume, in the blood. If a driver is found to have a BAC level of .08 or above, he or she is subject to arrest and prosecution. The National Transportation Safety Board is advising states to lower the Blood Alcohol Level that defines drunk driving from .08 to .05, which they say is the level at which many drivers’ vision can be affected-NBC’s Tom Costello reports. The NTSB recommends dropping that to a BAC level of .05. Each year, nearly 10,000 people die in alcohol-related traffic accidents and 170,000 are injured,… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on DUI Arrests and The National Transportation Safety Board’s Recommendation To Lower BAC Level

BAC Level in DUI Cases

BAC Level in DUI Cases

Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) refers to a measurement of a person’s level of intoxication. This measurement is obtained by assessing the amount, by volume or mass, of alcohol in the bloodstream. In many jurisdictions, driving under the influence (DUI) laws are based on setting a maximum BAC for the operators of motor vehicles. BAC measures how intoxicated a person is at a given time. The results can do a great deal of fluctuating even within the course of a day. The more alcohol a person consumes, the higher his BAC should be. In the United States, every state has a DUI statute that sets the legal BAC threshold at .08%. In some circumstances and for certain groups of people, the limit is even lower, and you can still be charged… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on BAC Level in DUI Cases

DUI Arrests and Plea Bargains In Florida

DUI Arrests and Plea Bargains In Florida

A Boynton Beach woman was arrested late Saturday after she hit a vehicle while police were investigating a crash involving a Florida East Coast Railway train in the north end of the city. Tiffany Jurczak, 26, was booked into the Palm Beach County Jail for driving under the influence and later released on her own recognizance, according to Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office booking records. Source Florida DUI Laws and BAC Limits ALL DRIVERS – BAC LIMIT = 0.08% In the State of Florida it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content – concentration) of 0.08% and above. COMMERCIAL DRIVERS – BAC LIMIT = 0.04% It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content – concentration) of… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on DUI Arrests and Plea Bargains In Florida

DUI Arrests in Florida, DUI Lawyers, DUI FAQs

DUI Arrests in Florida, DUI Lawyers, DUI FAQs

Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida is a criminal offense and could be subject to harsh penalties – including fines, community service, probation, vehicle impoundment, loss of driving privileges and even imprisonment – if convicted. To ensure that your rights are protected, consult a South Florida DUI attorney. Most DUI arrests in Florida occur after a traffic stop or an alcohol-related vehicle accident. If the officer notices that you are driving erratically or disobeying traffic laws, he or she may pull you over on suspicion of DUI in Florida and administer a series of field sobriety tests, used to determine if there is probable cause for a drunk-driving arrest. After your arrest, the officer may transport you back to the police station for a breathalyzer test;… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on DUI Arrests in Florida, DUI Lawyers, DUI FAQs

Beating DUI Charges, DUI Consequences and Importance of DUI Attorney

Beating DUI Charges, DUI Consequences and Importance of DUI Attorney

DUI charges are usually based on a person’s BAC or blood alcohol concentration and may be determined by the administering of a breath, blood or urine test (which is usually conducted if drugs are suspected). All 50 states and the District of Columbia have set a BAC limit. Most states have a legal limit of 0.08 for citizens over age 21. Can you beat a DUI charge? There are steps you can take to get the charges reduced or to beat a DUI conviction and be acquitted, or found not guilty, of the charge (source, details ) 1. Determine if you have a defense. The first step in beating any DUI charge is to determine if you have a legal defense to the crime. If you have a legal defense,… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on Beating DUI Charges, DUI Consequences and Importance of DUI Attorney