120 S. Olive Ave., Suite 402
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Category Archives: DUI / Drunk Driving

What You Need To Know About DUI Conviction and DUI Plea Bargain

A DUI conviction results from charges of driving under influence. Alcohol is not the only substance that can result in a DUI conviction. Driving while intoxicated by chemical substances can be considered illegal as well. This can include both legal and illegal drugs. Test results usually weigh heavily in such cases. Although limits are not generally specified for chemical substances, there are tests that can confirm their presence in a person’s system. A DUI conviction carries numerous consequences. Penalties are different in every state, but generally, there is a risk of incarceration and probation for a 1st offense and mandatory incarceration for multiple convictions. Fines and the payment of court costs are commonly ordered. It is also likely that a DUI conviction will result in some period of driver’s license… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on What You Need To Know About DUI Conviction and DUI Plea Bargain

DUI Charge With Child in A Car

DUI Charge With Child in A Car

A Greenacres woman is facing DUI and child neglect charges today after police say her teenage daughter was in the vehicle with her as she drove impaired. Greenacres police arrested Martina Cecilia Ramirez, 45, in the area of South Jog Road and 10th Avenue North Wednesday night. She is being held at the Palm Beach County Jail this afternoon in lieu of $3,000. During the traffic stop, the affidavit says Ramirez told the officer she had been drinking coffee but not alcohol. She pointed to a 20 oz. Styrofoam coffee cup with a white lid and straw, which was sitting in a cup holder. She hesitated when the officer asked to see the cup, but eventually handed it over. “It was not filled with coffee,” the officer wrote, “but a… […]

| Tagged , , | Comments Off on DUI Charge With Child in A Car

Florida DUI Education. Driving with an unlawful alcohol level (DUBAL) – (.08)

Florida DUI Education. Driving with an unlawful alcohol level (DUBAL) – (.08)

According to Florida DUI law, your license will be suspended as of the arrest date for 6 months for the first offense and one year for any other offense of DUBAL (source). You will be given a 10-day permit on the date of the arrest. Once the permit has expired, then 30 days of the suspension must be served before the driver is eligible to apply for a hardship license. You will be eligible for a hardship license on the first and any consecutive suspension, unless you have been convicted of a DUI in Florida two or more times. Under the Florida DUI law, you must provide proof of enrollment in a driving under the influence school to the Administrative Reviews Office for consideration for a hardship license. If given… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on Florida DUI Education. Driving with an unlawful alcohol level (DUBAL) – (.08)

Florida DUI Checkpoints and Your Rights

Florida DUI Checkpoints and Your Rights

New Year’s Eve is here. Celebrating with your friends and family is a good thing. Drinking and driving is not. Many people on the road today do not understand their rights pertaining to DUI checkpoints. These rights become increasingly important if you’ve had a few drinks, and aren’t sure if it will register on a breathalyzer. To avoid incriminating yourself, listed below is some information you find useful about sobriety checkpoints before you find yourself being stopped at a temporary roadblock set up to catch drunk drivers. DUI and sobriety checkpoints are temporary roadblocks erected by law enforcement to catch drunk drivers in the act. Officer at checkpoints may stop every vehicle driving past, or they may perform patterned or random checks. The legality of checkpoints has been the point… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on Florida DUI Checkpoints and Your Rights

DUI Manslaughter Charge

DUI Manslaughter Charge

As John Goodman headed back to jail for allegedly trying to break his house arrest ankle monitor in October, questions arose as to why the Wellington polo mogul would try such an unsophisticated move with a DUI manslaughter conviction and 16-year prison sentence hanging over him (source, full story) Certainly his actions — if proved intentional — would have virtually assured a trip to prison and revocation of his $7 million bond as he seeks a new trial in the case surrounding the February 2010 death of Scott Wilson. But evidence prosecutors and Palm Beach County Sheriff’s deputies presented at a hearing shortly after Goodman’s arrest appeared to leave little room for doubt. Now, as Goodman is home again after Circuit Judge Jeffrey Colbath last week flatly rejected claims that… […]

| Tagged | Comments Off on DUI Manslaughter Charge

Refusing A Breathalyzer Test During DUI Stop

Refusing A Breathalyzer Test During DUI Stop

In every state, refusing to take a breathalyzer is allowed, but it’s also grounds for punishment. That’s because of “implied consent” laws (source). All states have adopted this law in some form and with varying penalties. In essence, the law forces drivers to consent to all field sobriety and chemical tests as a condition to being given a driver’s license. There’s no way to get around it. If you want to be a licensed driver, you have to consent. The penalties for refusing differ across the country. Typically though, drivers can be fined around $500 and/or even jailed. In most states, refusal results in an automatic license suspension for generally about six months. But the fun doesn’t end there. As with most crimes, the punishment tends to create a ripple… […]

| Tagged , , | Comments Off on Refusing A Breathalyzer Test During DUI Stop

Drunk Driving Cases and Consequences

Drunk Driving Cases and Consequences

It is a common belief that a drunk driving arrest is not much different than a traffic citation. A case in point: Most traffic offenses are civil infractions which carry no significant penalty other than a fine and a possible driver’s license suspension. A conviction for a drunk driving offense will result in a criminal record, and can potentially result in significant fines and a jail sentence or term of probation. Driving Under the Influence (DUI) There are many types of driving offenses with varying penalties and consequences, but one of the most serious offenses is that of impaired driving. This criminal offense is known by various labels such as Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”), Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”), and Operating Under the Influence (“OUI”), among others. The labels and… […]

| Tagged , | Comments Off on Drunk Driving Cases and Consequences

DUI Cases, Florida Accident Report Privilege and Hardship License

DUI Cases, Florida Accident Report Privilege and Hardship License

If you or your family member were involved in an car accident and subsequently arrested for DUI or any other charge, know this: The most important thing in DUI/DWI cases is early intervention by your attorney. This preliminary involvement will help you avoid the consequences of a conviction, which are very serious in Florida. There are defenses in DUI accident cases, which an experienced and capable lawyer can use. Even if you made a statement to police during your arrest, lawyers at Andrew D. Stine law firm can usually get that evidence thrown out of court. Any statement you give officers cannot be used against you due to the Florida accident report privilege. Accident Report Privilege Drivers who are involved in reported or alleged motor vehicle accidents have a legal… […]

| Tagged , | Comments Off on DUI Cases, Florida Accident Report Privilege and Hardship License

DUI 1st Offense in Florida

DUI 1st Offense in Florida

In the state of Florida when arrested for a first offense DUI charge the arresting officer will confiscate the driver’s license and issue the driver what is referred to as a “Notice of Suspension”. This notice will act as the driver’s license for the next 10 days. Important: A person who has been arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Florida only has 10 days from the date of arrest in which to request a hearing with the FLHSMV if they wish to avoid having their driving privileges automatically suspended for the next 6 months. If you hope to have a successful outcome at your hearing it is very important that you contact one of Florida DUI lawyers today to have our lawyers schedule your hearing and represent you… […]

| Tagged , , | Comments Off on DUI 1st Offense in Florida

DUI Arrest In Palm Beach County

DUI Arrest In Palm Beach County

The principal of Palm Beach Public elementary school remains on leave following her arrest two weeks ago on a charge of driving under the influence. Sharon Robinson Stevens, 66, was arrested the evening of Aug. 24 by Palm Beach Police, and was released on her own recognizance the next morning. When asked what happens when a district employee is arrested on a DUI charge, Harrington said that each case differs, but that, “if something occurs involving an employee off school property while not on duty … depending on circumstances, there could a personnel investigation to look at any possible job-related effects.” Typically after a DWI arrest, a suspect is taken to jail and given a chance to perform more sobriety tests or repeat the ones conducted at the roadside. Like… […]

| Tagged , | Comments Off on DUI Arrest In Palm Beach County