Driving With a Suspended License
There are a variety of reasons why an individual could have his or her license suspended in Florida. Some of these include being convicted of drunk driving, reckless driving, and other serious traffic offenses.
Regardless of why your license was suspended, once it is suspended, you are not allowed to operate a vehicle without receiving specific permission to do so. If you are found driving while your license is suspended, you could face serious consequences. In order to give yourself the best chance at avoiding penalties for your alleged offense, contact a West Palm Beach traffic crimes attorney.
West Palm Beach Attorney for Driving with a Suspended License
Andrew D. Stine serves clients who are facing charges for driving with a suspended license in Palm Beach County, including the areas in and around West Palm Beach, Rivera Beach, Lantana, Wellington, Boca Raton, and Lake Worth. Attorney Stine has the knowledge and experience necessary to successfully represent you.
Contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A. at 561.880.4300,set up a free consultation on your charges for driving with a suspended license, and let Stine fight to protect your freedom and driving privileges.
Information Center for Driving With a Suspended License in Florida
- Is Driving With a Suspended License a Criminal Offense?
- What are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License?
- Criminal Defense Attorney Representing Clients in Palm Beach County
According to Section 322.34 of the Florida Statutes, if an individual operates a vehicle with the knowledge that their license has been suspended, revoked, or canceled, he or she can be charged with a felony or misdemeanor.
Some of the most common reasons individuals have their licenses suspended or revoked in Palm Beach County are:
- Point accumulation after committing numerous traffic offenses
- Repeatedly committing the same traffic crime
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Fleeing from police
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
- Vehicular Manslaughter
- Unpaid traffic tickets
Being unaware of a license cancellation, suspension, or revocation is a valid defense for this crime. However, the defendant’s driving record, as well as previously being cited for driving with a suspended license can be used by the prosecution to prove that the defendant had knowledge of the license suspension.
If you are convicted of driving with a suspended, canceled, or revoked driver’s license in West Palm Beach, you can be subjected to the following penalties:
- For a first offense, driving with a suspended license is considered a second degree misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 60 days behind bars and/or a fine of up to $500.
- A second offense of this crime can be charged as a first degree misdemeanor, which carries a prison sentence of up to a year and/or a maximum fine of $1,000.
- If convicted of this offense for a third time, an individual could face third degree felony charges and be sentenced to up to five years in prison, and/or up to a $5,000 fine.
If you have been charged with driving while your license is suspended in Boca Raton, Delray Beach, Greenacres, Boynton Beach, Jupiter, Palm Beach Gardens, Lake Worth, or the surrounding areas, contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A.. Attorney Stine is a qualified traffic crimes defense attorney who will fight to have the charges against you dismissed.
For more information on what Andrew D. Stine, P.A. can do for you, contact Andrew Stine at 561.880.4300 to set up your free consultation, and let a dedicated Palm Beach County criminal defense attorney fight for you.