Each year, drivers who are under the influence of drugs or alcohol are involved in numerous accidents that cause severe injuries and death to other people. Therefore, driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious crime that is not taken lightly by our judicial system. Even after the first offense, individuals can face stiff and sometimes life altering penalties. It is vital for anyone who has been accused of driving under the influence to seek legal representation from a qualified DUI attorney who can help them avoid having their life turned upside down for making a mistake.
West Palm Beach First DUI Attorney
Andrew D. Stine aggressively represents drivers who have been charged with their first DUI in West Palm Beach, Boynton Beach, Greenacres, Lake Worth, Riviera Beach, Wellington, and the surrounding areas. Attorney Stine tries cases, picks juries, and wins trials. His proven trial record has allowed him to help most clients avoid a trial by obtaining favorable plea agreements.
Contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A. at 561.880.4300 and set up a consultation on your DUI allegations. Your first consultation is free and the sooner you contact Stine, the sooner he can start collecting evidence and preparing your defense.
Definition of First DUI in Florida
According to Fla. Stat § 316.193, an individual is considered “under the influence” if he or she has consumed any alcoholic beverage or taken any chemical substance mentioned under chapter 893 of the Florida Statutes, that has impaired their ability to walk, talk, judge distances, hear, see, drive, make proper judgments, or perform any other act of normal daily life.
A driver can be charged with DUI if he or she is under the influence of drugs or alcohol while in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. In order to be in actual physical control of a vehicle, the individual must be in or nearby the vehicle, and be capable of operating it, but does not actually have to be driving.
When a driver is pulled over and his or her blood alcohol content is measured and is found to be over the legal limit of .08, he or she can be immediately arrested for DUI.
Penalties for First DUI in Florida
Under Fla. Stat. § 316.193(2) (a), the potential punishments for individuals charged with their first DUI are listed below. Depending on the decision of the court, sentencing could involve some or all of these punishments:
- Between a $500 and $1,000 fine.
- Up to six months of imprisonment
- Driver’s license suspension of six months to a year
- Ignition interlock system
- Community service
If the driver had a blood alcohol level of .15 or higher, or had a minor in the car with them at the time, he or she can be subjected to enhanced penalties. These penalties include up to nine months of imprisonment, between a $1,000 and $2,000 fine, and a mandatory ignition interlock system for a minimum of 180 days.
DUI School in Florida
If you have been convicted of driving under the influence, you may be required to take a DUI course as part of your sentencing. The purpose of the program is to educate you on the dangers of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. You will also go through a psychological evaluation and will be given the information of the treatment centers is your area. In instances where individuals have had their licenses suspended, completing a DUI course may be required before getting their license reinstated.
Andrew D. Stine, P.A. | Palm Beach County First DUI Lawyer
If have been accused of your first DUI in Wellington, Palm Springs, Lantana, Lake Worth, Palm Beach, Pahokee, West Palm Beach, or the surrounding areas, contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A.. Stine is a highly qualified DUI lawyer who will use his knowledge and experience to weaken the prosecution’s case, and potentially have your charges reduced or thrown out.
Contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A. at 561.880.4300 to set up a free consultation on your DUI charges, and let Stine fight for you.