Florida Convicted Sex Offenders
David Wayne Carter, a convicted sex offender, is currently in Palm Beach County jail on $150,000 bail. Carter was arrested on Monday after reports came that he sexually abused a teenage girl for the past 5 years. Carter is facing charges of sexual battery and lewd or lascivious molestation. According to sheriff’s investigators, interview with Carter during custody proceedings ended when he refused to submit to a voice stress analysis and requested an attorney. Source, full story
A sex offender is a person who has committed a sex crime. What constitutes a sex crime differs by culture and legal jurisdiction. Most jurisdictions compile their laws into sections, such as traffic, assault and sexual. The majority of convicted sex offenders have convictions for crimes of a sexual nature; however, some sex offenders have simply violated a law contained in a sexual category.
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT
Since Governor Crist signed Public Safety Information Act in 1997 and Florida became the first state to list sexual predators and offenders on the Internet and to make the same information available through a 24-hour/day hotline. This Act allowed the Florida Department of Law Enforcement to give the public access to information important to their ability to protect themselves and their families against sexual offenders. Since that time, Florida has continued to lead the nation in legislating strong registration and related sexual offender laws, and effectively implementing these laws through the dedicated efforts of criminal justice partners across the state.
At the time the Public Safety Information Act passed, Florida had 471 sexual predators and approximately 8,000 sexual offenders listed in the database. Today, ten years later, that number has grown to more than 6,400 registered predators and 38,000 registered offenders. Despite the increased volume of registrants, Florida has responded quickly and favorably to the changing demands of state and federal laws as well as the logistical requirements that come with this much larger group of registrants.
Sexual Offenders Registration
- Sexual offenders must complete a registration form at their county sheriff’s office either twice a year (birth month and 6th month thereafter) or four times a year (birth month and every 3rd month thereafter) depending upon their offense. For a list of qualifying offenses please refer to Florida Statute 943.0435 (14) (b)
- Sexual predators, some sexual offenders, and juvenile sexual offenders must report four times a year (birth month and every 3rd month thereafter).
- Sexual offenders/predators must update their driver’s license or identification card within 48 hours after any change to their residence (permanent, temporary or transient) or name.
- Sexual offenders/predators MUST maintain registration for the duration of their life.
- All qualifying sexual offenders, sexual predators, and juvenile sexual offenders will be listed on the public registry website.
Please visit Florida Sexual Offenders and Predators website for detailed information.
Penalties for Sex Crimes in Florida
Depending on the offense, the classification of sex offenses ranges all the way from a second-degree misdemeanor sex crime penalized with jail time and fines to a capital felony sex crime which may qualify for the death penalty. A second-degree misdemeanor sex offense in West Palm Beach County, such as prostitution, is punishable by a maximum of 60 days in jail and a fine of $500.
The next class up of sex crimes are first-degree misdemeanors with up to a year in jail and/or fines up to $1,000. Felony sex crimes come with additional required Florida felony sanctions like the loss of certain civil rights and the ineligibility for specific government aid on top of presumptive prison and monetary penalties.
Florida defines felonies according to two different types: those classified by degrees, and those classified by penalties. The majority of felony sex crimes in Florida are classified by degrees. For instance, a sex crime that is punishable as a third-degree felony carries a maximum sentence of five years in prison and a $5,000 fine, while a sex offense that is a second-degree felony comes with a maximum of 15 years in prison (generally with a five-year mandatory minimum) and a $10,000 fine.
First-degree felony sex crimes, such as certain instances of rape, are punishable by up to 30 years in prison or a life sentence and up to $10,000 in fines.
West Palm Beach Sex Crime Defense Attorney
Florida code is very punitive when it comes to the sensitive nature of sex crimes and how to govern them. Andrew Stine is an experienced West Palm Beach criminal defense attorney whose prior service as an army medic and a public defender give him a militant detention to detail and a strong knowledge of the Florida criminal justice system that could be beneficial to your sex crime case. With over 10 years of experience serving criminal defense clients like you, he knows what you’re up against as an alleged sex offender and how to fight both to protect your rights and to achieve a favorable outcome.
To find out more about what Andrew D. Stine, P.A. can do for your sex crime case in Palm Beach County, call 561.880.4300 today and schedule your free initial case consultation.