120 S. Olive Ave., Suite 402
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Grand Theft Laws in Florida

Grand theft is defined as the unlawful stealing of another’s property that is valued at more than $300. If the property is less than $300, it is considered petty theft. Petty theft is usually the term used for shoplifters and other smaller crimes. Grand theft, of any kind, is considered a felony. The degree of the felony charge is dependent on the value of the stolen property.

In order to be convicted of grand theft, the state must prove that the defendant (1) deprived a person of the right to their property or the benefit thereof, or (2) appropriated the property for personal use or for the use of another person who is not entitled to the use of the property, according to the Florida Statutes. The varying degrees of grand theft are listed below.

First Degree Felony

First degree grand theft is charged as a first degree felony if the property stolen is:

  • Valued at greater than $100,000
  • Is shipping Cargo worth more than $50,000

If the defendant is convicted of first degree grand theft, the sentence is:

  • A minimum prison sentence of 21 months
  • A maximum prison sentence of 30 years
  • 30 years of probation, or
  • A maximum fine of $10,000
Second Degree Felony

Second degree grand theft is charged as a second degree felony if the property stolen is:

  • Valued at less than $100,000 but greater than $20,000
  • Is shipping Cargo worth less than $50,000, or
  • Is emergency medical equipment worth more than $300

If the defendant is convicted of second degree grand theft, the sentence is:

  • A maximum prison sentence of 15 years
  • 15 years of probation, or
  • A maximum fine of $10,000
Third Degree Felony

Third degree grand theft is charged as a third degree felony if the property stolen is:

  • Valued at less than $20,000 but greater than $300
  • Is a will, testamentary instrument, firearm, or motor vehicle

If the defendant is convicted of third degree grand theft, the sentence is:

  • A maximum prison sentence of 5 years
  • 5 years of probation, or
  • A maximum fine of $5,000
Grand Theft Defense

If you have been charged with grand theft, there is hope. A criminal defense lawyer can advise you to resolve the theft charges by way of a diversion program called pre-trial intervention. By paying restitution and the fine that would ensue, you may be able to have the charges dismissed and avoid a criminal record. Only an experienced criminal defense lawyer can help you through this process.

Share this Article

This entry was posted in Property Crimes, and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *