Hit and Run in Florida
Have you ever been in a car accident? If so, then you understand how complicated things can be afterwards. To make matters more complicated, a hit and run is a serious crime in the state of Florida. Generally the extent of the charges depend on the amount of damage inflicted on the victim during the accident. Regardless, if you are caught, you will be charged with anything from a second-degree misdemeanor to a first-degree felony. If you have caused an accident and fled the scene, immediately contact a criminal defense lawyer to discuss what you can do about this situation.
Hit and Run Penalties in Florida
For a car accident in the state of Florida, you are required by law to stop and exchange your contact information. If someone has been injured in the accident, you must help them get medical attention.
If you leave the scene of the accident, you will be charged with a hit and run. If you left the scene after causing property damage, you could be facing a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail, in addition to a fine of $500.
If you left the scene of the accident after causing an injury to someone, you will face a third-degree felony, punishable by 5 years in prison, and a fine of $5,000.
If you left the scene of an accident after causing someone’s death, you will face a first degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.
Hit and Run Legal Defense
This crime is extremely serious in Florida, not to mention if you cause someone injury or death and flee the scene, your charges increase exponentially. If you have been involved in a hit and run car accident, you need a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. If you want to fight your charges and at least have a chance of salvaging this situation, a criminal defense lawyer like Andrew D. Stine can investigate your case and help you build a solid defense strategy.