How a Jupiter Man Avoided Registering as a Sex Offender
According to an article written by Rochelle Ritchie, a columnist for WPTV News Channel 5, a 20-year-old Jupiter man avoided a 140 year imprisonment sentence for accidentally viewing child pornography 3 to 4 years ago.
Michael Morris Booth was sent an email containing child pornography from a friend. He confessed viewing the photos when he received them to the police. When police began the investigation, the computer was broken and in the closet.
The judge allowed Booth to walk. Booth will volunteer 30 hours a week with the state attorney’s office and will talk to adults and children at local schools advocating the awareness of child porn and computer safety.
His defense attorney, Marc Shiner, said he was given a huge break,
One mistake, a few minutes of your life, can ruin the rest of your life…it came back to haunt him and he was looking at being in prison for along, long time.”
The criminal defense attorney says that Booth does not have to register as a sex offender.
Florida Law requires sex offenders and sexual predators to register their address with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement or the local Sheriff’s office.
If you are a sex offender or sexual predator registered with the state, every move you make is watched and closely monitored. You are restricted in everything you do, who you meet, and how you live. All of your information is made public and available to anyone who requests it. A criminal defense lawyer can help you understand exactly how restricted you will be after release.
Some registered sex offenders have to follow the following terms and restrictions:
- A mandatory curfew from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. An alternative may be recommended by the Department of Corrections.
- If the victim was under the age of 18, the offender is prohibited from living within 1,000 feet (measured by a straight line) of a school, day care center, park, playground, or other place that is commonly populated with children.
- Active participation in and successful completion of a sex offender treatment program.
- A prohibition on any contact with the victim, directly or indirectly, including a third person, unless approved by the victim, the offender’s therapist, and the sentencing court
- If the victim was under 18, no contact is allowed with anyone under the age of 18 unless specified by the court after a risk assessment.
Contact a criminal defense lawyer to help you understand the ramifications of committing a sex offense. The consequences can be severe and it is important to have a criminal defense attorney on your side.