Palm Beach County’s DUI First Time Offenders Program
New Year’s Eve celebrations and News Year’s Eve parties led to drastic increases in arrest for DUI drivers in Boca-Raton and North Palm Beach, Florida. While Palm Beach County in general, saw a rise in DUI arrest over the New Year’s Holiday season, Boca-Raton and North Palm Beach law enforcement officers had the biggest spike in DUI arrest throughout Palm Beach County, according to the PBSO booking blotter.
Florida leads the nation in DUI arrest with 61,852 as of last year’s statistics, which are the last recorded numbers available. (Statisicbrain.com). The counties of Palm Beach, Broward and Dade are leading the way in putting Florida on the top of the DUI map. During the holidays DUI arrest rise for two reasons: (i) more people drink and drive and (ii) local law enforcement agencies and PBSO are on heightened alert for DUI drivers.
This holiday season, Boca Raton and North Palm Beach Police Departments have been busy arresting DUI drivers, according to the PBSO booking blotter. Many drivers arrested in these two municipalities do not make it a habit to drink and drive on a regular basis and are first time DUI drivers.
Florida’s DUI law is very simple and states in pertinent part as follows:
(1) A person is guilty of the offense of driving under the influence and is subject to punishment as provided in subsection (2) if the person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state and:
(a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in sec. 877.11, or any substance controlled under chapter 893, when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired;
(b) The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or
(c) The person has a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
(2)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), subsection (3), or subsection (4), any person who is convicted of a violation of subsection (1) shall be punished:
1. By a fine of:
a. Not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for a first conviction.
b. Not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 for a second conviction; and
2. By imprisonment for:
a. Not more than 6 months for a first conviction.
b. Not more than 9 months for a second conviction.
More likely than not, many of these DUI drivers have never been arrested before for DUI or any other crime in their lifetime. For the DUI first time offender, Palm Beach County has a “First Time Offender Program” in place. The beauty of this first time DUI offender program, if you qualify, allows the driver to have the DUI arrest reduced to a “Reckless Driving” charge. The first time DUI offender program in Palm Beach County has a very strict acceptance policy. If you are a first time DUI offender, if no accident was caused during your DUI arrest, if you were courteous and respectful to the arresting Police Officer, if you do not have any other criminal convictions during a lifetime and if you blew below the required acceptance level you may be eligible for the program.
Palm Beach DUI defense lawyer, Andrew D. Stine, has been representing DUI drivers for well over a decade throughout Palm Beach County, Florida. Andrew D. Stine has been successful in helping DUI drivers who have committed their first offense, to those DUI drivers who are responsible for taking the lives of others, while impaired or under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI and this is your first offense, then contact Andrew D. Stine, to see if you qualify for the “first time offender program.” Do like thousands have done for well over the past decade in Palm Beach County, FL and that is “Hire Stine or Do the Time.”