Anytime an individual drives in a way that poses a threat to him or the public, he or she could potentially face reckless driving charges. Reckless driving is a crime that encompasses many times of driving conduct; therefore, police officers have a propensity to jump to conclusions and immediately charge individuals with this crime when they were only guilty of a simple traffic violation.
West Palm Beach Reckless Driving Lawyer
If you have been charged with reckless driving in Rivera Beach, Wellington, West Palm Beach, Royal Palm Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Lake Park, or the surrounding areas, contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A.. Attorney Stine will review the facts in your case and find mistakes made by the prosecution that could potentially lead to having the charges against you reduced or dismissed.
Contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A. at 561.880.4300 and set up a consultation to discuss your reckless driving charges. Your initial consultation is free, and is a crucial step in planning a defense that could keep you from behind bars.
Information on Reckless Driving Charges in Florida
- Florida Law on Reckless Driving
- Penalties for Reckless Driving
- Serving Clients who are Facing Reckless Driving Charges in Palm Beach County
According to section 316.192 of the Florida Statutes, an individual is guilty of reckless driving when he or she operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of other people or their property. Individuals can also be charged with reckless driving for:
- Driving at excessive speeds
- Disregarding traffic signs
- Weaving in and out of traffic
- Violating multiple traffic laws
- Ignoring weather conditions
- Passing a school bus
- Improper passing
- Failing to use signals
- Failing to yield
- Drag racing
If an individual uses a vehicle to flee from a law enforcement officer, he or she can automatically be charged with reckless driving.
If an individual is convicted of reckless driving for the first time, he or she can be sentenced to up to 90 days in jail, and/or a fine of up to $500. A second or subsequent conviction of this offense can result in a prison sentence of up to 6 months, and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
If the reckless driving resulted in damage to someone else’s property or minor injuries to the victim, the driver can be charged with a first degree misdemeanor. If the offense caused serious bodily injury to the other driver, the offender can be charged with a third degree felony. A third degree felony is punishable by up to five years in prison, and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Serious bodily injury is defined as injury to another person which causes a physical condition that creates a substantial risk of death, disfigurement, or impairment of the function of any body part or organ.
Andrew D. Stine serves individuals who are facing charges for reckless driving in Palm Springs, West Palm Beach, Pahokee, North Palm Beach, Lantana, and the surrounding areas. Attorney Stine has a proven track record in and out of the courtroom, and has served over 5,000 clients throughout the state of Florida.
Contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A. at 561.880.4300 and set up a consultation on your reckless driving charges. Your consultation is free and is an essential part of planning your defense strategy.