120 S. Olive Ave., Suite 402
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Tag Archives: DUI

DUI Charge With Child in A Car

DUI Charge With Child in A Car

A Greenacres woman is facing DUI and child neglect charges today after police say her teenage daughter was in the vehicle with her as she drove impaired. Greenacres police arrested Martina Cecilia Ramirez, 45, in the area of South Jog Road and 10th Avenue North Wednesday night. She is being held at the Palm Beach County Jail this afternoon in lieu of $3,000. During the traffic stop, the affidavit says Ramirez told the officer she had been drinking coffee but not alcohol. She pointed to a 20 oz. Styrofoam coffee cup with a white lid and straw, which was sitting in a cup holder. She hesitated when the officer asked to see the cup, but eventually handed it over. “It was not filled with coffee,” the officer wrote, “but a… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , , | Comments Off on DUI Charge With Child in A Car

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana. Is the Law More Impaired Than the Driver?

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana. Is the Law More Impaired Than the Driver?

Clearing the Smoke on New Marijuana Laws There are going to be a lot more impaired drivers on the road now that marijuana use is legal in Colorado and Washington. And the laws regarding driving under the influence of marijuana are tricky. Police have the right to arrest you if you have small amounts of THC in your system. They have the right to blood test you even if they think you look high. This is a problem because many people look high all the time and just about everyone looks high driving home after a long day at work. A police officer may detect the presence of drugs through a test done with breath, blood, or urine. However, since there isn’t an exact number to prove toxicity like the… […]

Posted in Drug Crime | Tagged , | Comments Off on Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana. Is the Law More Impaired Than the Driver?

Refusing A Breathalyzer Test During DUI Stop

Refusing A Breathalyzer Test During DUI Stop

In every state, refusing to take a breathalyzer is allowed, but it’s also grounds for punishment. That’s because of “implied consent” laws (source). All states have adopted this law in some form and with varying penalties. In essence, the law forces drivers to consent to all field sobriety and chemical tests as a condition to being given a driver’s license. There’s no way to get around it. If you want to be a licensed driver, you have to consent. The penalties for refusing differ across the country. Typically though, drivers can be fined around $500 and/or even jailed. In most states, refusal results in an automatic license suspension for generally about six months. But the fun doesn’t end there. As with most crimes, the punishment tends to create a ripple… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , , | Comments Off on Refusing A Breathalyzer Test During DUI Stop

Drunk Driving Cases and Consequences

Drunk Driving Cases and Consequences

It is a common belief that a drunk driving arrest is not much different than a traffic citation. A case in point: Most traffic offenses are civil infractions which carry no significant penalty other than a fine and a possible driver’s license suspension. A conviction for a drunk driving offense will result in a criminal record, and can potentially result in significant fines and a jail sentence or term of probation. Driving Under the Influence (DUI) There are many types of driving offenses with varying penalties and consequences, but one of the most serious offenses is that of impaired driving. This criminal offense is known by various labels such as Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”), Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”), and Operating Under the Influence (“OUI”), among others. The labels and… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , | Comments Off on Drunk Driving Cases and Consequences

DUI Cases, Florida Accident Report Privilege and Hardship License

DUI Cases, Florida Accident Report Privilege and Hardship License

If you or your family member were involved in an car accident and subsequently arrested for DUI or any other charge, know this: The most important thing in DUI/DWI cases is early intervention by your attorney. This preliminary involvement will help you avoid the consequences of a conviction, which are very serious in Florida. There are defenses in DUI accident cases, which an experienced and capable lawyer can use. Even if you made a statement to police during your arrest, lawyers at Andrew D. Stine law firm can usually get that evidence thrown out of court. Any statement you give officers cannot be used against you due to the Florida accident report privilege. Accident Report Privilege Drivers who are involved in reported or alleged motor vehicle accidents have a legal… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , | Comments Off on DUI Cases, Florida Accident Report Privilege and Hardship License

DUI 1st Offense in Florida

DUI 1st Offense in Florida

In the state of Florida when arrested for a first offense DUI charge the arresting officer will confiscate the driver’s license and issue the driver what is referred to as a “Notice of Suspension”. This notice will act as the driver’s license for the next 10 days. Important: A person who has been arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Florida only has 10 days from the date of arrest in which to request a hearing with the FLHSMV if they wish to avoid having their driving privileges automatically suspended for the next 6 months. If you hope to have a successful outcome at your hearing it is very important that you contact one of Florida DUI lawyers today to have our lawyers schedule your hearing and represent you… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , , | Comments Off on DUI 1st Offense in Florida

DUI Arrest In Palm Beach County

DUI Arrest In Palm Beach County

The principal of Palm Beach Public elementary school remains on leave following her arrest two weeks ago on a charge of driving under the influence. Sharon Robinson Stevens, 66, was arrested the evening of Aug. 24 by Palm Beach Police, and was released on her own recognizance the next morning. When asked what happens when a district employee is arrested on a DUI charge, Harrington said that each case differs, but that, “if something occurs involving an employee off school property while not on duty … depending on circumstances, there could a personnel investigation to look at any possible job-related effects.” Typically after a DWI arrest, a suspect is taken to jail and given a chance to perform more sobriety tests or repeat the ones conducted at the roadside. Like… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , | Comments Off on DUI Arrest In Palm Beach County

DUI Convictions, Driving Record and Expungement Procedure

DUI Convictions, Driving Record and Expungement Procedure

If you’re like most people facing DUI charges, you don’t know a lot about the workings of the criminal court system and are unsure what to expect. DUI charges can’t be taken lightly. Many states have imposed mandatory jail time for even first-time offenders, and the additional costs and penalties associated with a DUI conviction can be serious as well: probation, mandatory drug and alcohol counseling, installation of an ignition interlock device on your car, expensive high-risk insurance requirements and much more. To learn more about the possible penalties for a DUI in your state and how you may be able to protect yourself, talk to a local DUI lawyer. DUI Convictions A driving under the influence (DUI) conviction can have long-term significant impacts on a person’s life. Everything from… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , | Comments Off on DUI Convictions, Driving Record and Expungement Procedure

Consult With DUI Lawyer About Your DUI Charges

Consult With DUI Lawyer About Your DUI Charges

Drinking and driving charges may result in either DUI misdemeanors or DUI felonies. Typically, a person receives a DUI misdemeanor for their first, second or third DUI offense. Felony charges typically result after a person’s third DUI offense or if they were involved in a car accident that caused bodily injury or property damage. Penalties for DUI misdemeanors are generally lesser than felony DUI penalties, but they vary state-by-state. The severity of the charges usually depend on whether a person has had any prior DUI misdemeanor charges: monetary fines probation mandatory alcohol counseling license suspension and/or restricted driving privileges jail time. Aggravated DUI Drunk driving laws are not limited to just alcohol impairment in automobiles, while different circumstances and past criminal convictions affect how each DUI defendant is charged. The… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , | Comments Off on Consult With DUI Lawyer About Your DUI Charges

Drunk Driving Lawyer

Drunk Driving Lawyer

Individuals who own a vehicle have a responsibility and duty to ensure that they drive in a safe and appropriate manner. When a person drives carelessly, he or she operates a vehicle or streetcar without the proper attention or a reasonable consideration for other people on the road. A careless driving charge has to do with a citation that implies that the person isn’t driving their vehicle in a prudent manner. There are several examples of behavior that could warrant a careless driving charge. Driving through a red light could be considered careless driving, as can driving inappropriately close to another vehicle. Even a person’s conduct while they are driving could be considered careless. For example, an individual who is reading a map, looking at another passenger, or tuning a… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged | Comments Off on Drunk Driving Lawyer