120 S. Olive Ave., Suite 402
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Tag Archives: first time offender

Legal Guide For First Time Offenders in Florida

Legal Guide For First Time Offenders in Florida

As the name implies, a first offender is a person who is convicted of a crime for the first time. Both adults and juveniles can be first time offenders. Punishment always depends on the type of crime committed. Sentencing guidelines are often more lenient for people who committed crimes for the first time. Hiring a Criminal Defense Attorney with years of experience can make the difference as to whether you will have a criminal record or not. So, in Palm Beach County, Martin County, Okeechobee County, St. Lucie County and all of South Florida, if you have been arrested and are a first time offender get legal advice from Criminal Defense Lawyer Andrew D. Stine and help position yourself for a clean record. To meet the condition of a 1st… […]

Posted in Criminal Defense | Tagged , | Comments Off on Legal Guide For First Time Offenders in Florida

First Time DUI Offenders Decline New Monitoring Program In Palm Beach County

First Time DUI Offenders Decline New Monitoring Program In Palm Beach County

First time DUI offenders are able to minimize the damage, avoid a criminal conviction, steep court fines, possible jail time and other headaches associated with DUI arrest. How? Prosecutors in Palm Beach County are promoting a new monitoring program where first-time DUI offenders agree to expensive alcohol monitoring devices for three to six months, pleading guilty to a misdemeanor reckless driving charge instead of a DUI, paying lower than usual fines, and completing one year of probation. How effective is the programs? Not very. A majority of the first-time DUI offenders declined to participate. According to Chief Assistant State Attorney Adrienne Ellis, just 425 people have signed up since the initiative began June 1. For most of 2013, the office handled about 2,500 DUI cases For source and complete details, please… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , , | Comments Off on First Time DUI Offenders Decline New Monitoring Program In Palm Beach County

DUI 1st Offense in Florida

DUI 1st Offense in Florida

In the state of Florida when arrested for a first offense DUI charge the arresting officer will confiscate the driver’s license and issue the driver what is referred to as a “Notice of Suspension”. This notice will act as the driver’s license for the next 10 days. Important: A person who has been arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Florida only has 10 days from the date of arrest in which to request a hearing with the FLHSMV if they wish to avoid having their driving privileges automatically suspended for the next 6 months. If you hope to have a successful outcome at your hearing it is very important that you contact one of Florida DUI lawyers today to have our lawyers schedule your hearing and represent you… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , , | Comments Off on DUI 1st Offense in Florida

Florida Drunk Driving Laws, Statistics, Penalties and DUI Attorney

Florida Drunk Driving Laws, Statistics, Penalties and DUI Attorney

Can a person be guilty of drunk driving if he only had one drink? The crime of drunk driving is generally defined in two ways: (1) having a blood alcohol content above the limit set by law, or (2) driving under the influence of alcohol. To find a person guilty under the first definition, a jury must be convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that the person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeded a certain amount. In most states the legal limit is .08 (or 8 percent). Therefore, if it is proven that the person’s BAC at the time of the incident was .08 or greater, he or she can be convicted of drunk driving, regardless of how much alcohol was actually consumed (source). In contrast, the second definition does not refer… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , , | Comments Off on Florida Drunk Driving Laws, Statistics, Penalties and DUI Attorney

DUI Charges in Palm Beach County

Getting charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is a serious offense and it could impact your life forever if you are convicted. Each year, states impose tougher DUI laws and more severe drunk driving penalties. Florida is no exception. This is what can happen to you for a first time DUI conviction in Florida: Jail – 6 Months Maximum – blood alcohol level (BAL) from .08 to less than .15 Jail – 9 Months Maximum – BAL above .15 Fine – From $500 to $1,000 – BAL from .08 to less than .15 Fine – From $1,000 to $2,000 – BAL above .15 or Minor in Vehicle License – Suspended from 180 Days to 1 Year Hardship Reinstatement – Complete DUI School Prior to Hardship Application Ignition Interlock… […]

Posted in DUI / Drunk Driving | Tagged , , | Comments Off on DUI Charges in Palm Beach County