Underage Possession of Alcohol
A minor in possession of alcohol charge or “MIP” is a common offense in Florida. With numerous college campuses, it is easy for minors to find themselves in the presence of alcohol. However, simply being in the presence of alcohol is not usually enough for an individual to be convicted of a crime. If you or your child has been charged with under age alcohol possession, contact a West Palm Beach juvenile crimes lawyer.
West Palm Beach Lawyer for Underage Alcohol Possession
Andrew D. Stine provides quality defense options to individuals who have been charged with underage alcohol possession in Boynton Beach, Riviera Beach, West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Greenacres, Wellington, Lake Worth, and the surrounding areas. Attorney Stine has years of criminal defense experience and will work tirelessly to achieve the clients desired outcome.
Contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A. at 561.880.4300 and set up a consultation to discuss your child’s case. Your first consultation is free and it is a necessary step in planning your defense.
Information Center for Underage Alcohol Possession
- Laws Regarding Underage Possession of Alcohol
- Penalties for Possession of Alcohol by a Minor in Florida
- Finding the Best Minor in Possession Attorney in Palm Beach County
Fla. Stat. § 562.111 maintains that it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to be in possession of alcohol, unless they are operating in the scope of legitimate business. In order for a minor to be convicted of MIP, the prosecution must prove that the alleged offender possessed the alcohol in one of two ways:
- Actual Possession: This type of possession means that the alleged offender had alcohol on his or her body, or otherwise in a close proximity. This can include having alcohol in hand, in a backpack, in a glove compartment, and other instances where the individual has immediate access to alcohol.
- Constructive Possession: For an individual to be in constructive possession, the prosecution must be able to show that the alleged offender was aware of the presence of alcohol, and had the ability and intent to possess it.
In Florida, a first offense for minor in possession is considered a second degree misdemeanor. If convicted, the defendant can face up to 60 days in jail, and/or a fine of up to $500. For a second or subsequent conviction for this crime, an individual will face first degree misdemeanor charges and can be sentenced to up to a year in jail, and/or up to a $1,000 fine.
Other potential penalties for this offense include but are not limited to:
- Driver’s license suspension
- Community service
- Treatment programs
- Drug and alcohol education programs
When a minor is charged with a misdemeanor offense in West Palm Beach, the court’s main objective is to rehabilitate the offender and ensure that he or she avoids further crimes. Therefore, with the help of an attorney, your child may be able to avoid jail time.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a minor in possession of alcohol in West Palm Beach, Delray Beach, Wellington, Greenacres, Jupiter, Boca Raton, or the surrounding areas, contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A.. Attorney Stine is a dedicated defense attorney who will inform you or your child on the available legal options and will assist you in choosing the one that is most beneficial.
Contact Andrew D. Stine, P.A. at 561.880.4300 to set up a consultation on you or your child’s charges. Your initial consultation is free and is a vital step in fighting your charges.