What Happens if I’m Charged with Grand Theft?
By Florida law, there are several different degrees of theft. However, regardless of the type of theft, or the value of the stolen item, it is a serious offense and will be on a permanent criminal record. If you have been charged with a theft-related crime, contact an experience criminal defense lawyer to assist you through the process.
Miami, Fl is the 5th highest city for grand theft incidences.
(1) A person commits theft if he or she knowingly obtains or uses, or endeavors to obtain or to use, the property of another with intent to, either temporarily or permanently:
(a) Deprive the other person of a right to the property or a benefit from the property.
(b) Appropriate the property to his or her own use or to the use of any person not entitled to the use of the property.
It is important to understand the difference between grand theft and petit theft. By equipping yourself with as much knowledge as possible, you are more likely to build a strong defense and hopefully reduce your charges. A criminal defense attorney can help you interpret the laws described below.
Petit theft (or petty theft as it is commonly called) is the stealing of property that values between $100 and $300. Petit theft is usually considered a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment.
Grand theft determines the severity of the crime solely on the value of the property stolen. If stolen property has a monetary value of $300 or more, it can be considered grand theft, which is a third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment.
Florida Grand Theft Statute
It is grand theft of the third degree and a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, if the property stolen is:
1. Valued at $300 or more, but less than $5,000.
2. Valued at $5,000 or more, but less than $10,000.
3. Valued at $10,000 or more, but less than $20,000.
4. A will, codicil, or other testamentary instrument.
5. A firearm.
6. A motor vehicle, except as provided in paragraph (a).
7. Any commercially farmed animal, including any animal of the equine, bovine, or swine class, or other grazing animal, and including aquaculture species raised at a certified aquaculture facility. If the property stolen is aquaculture species raised at a certified aquaculture facility, then a $10,000 fine shall be imposed.
8. Any fire extinguisher.
9. Any amount of citrus fruit consisting of 2,000 or more individual pieces of fruit.
10. Taken from a designated construction site identified by the posting of a sign as provided for in s. 810.09(2)(d).
11. Any stop sign.
12. Anhydrous ammonia.
If you did not commit the crime of theft, a criminal defense attorney can help you prepare an aggressive defense and force the state to prove its case. Many theft charges can be resolved through a diversion program called pre-trial intervention.