120 S. Olive Ave., Suite 402
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

What is the Sentence for Child Abuse?

Crimes committed against children are a heinous but unfortunately realistic part of our society. A lot of times, when a parent is arrested on child abuse charges, it is not the first time that parent has been investigated by the Department of Children and Families. Investigations are usually conducted after a teacher, neighbor, or family member reports suspicion to the authorities.

Child Abuse in the Name of Discipline

According to the following article from the Palm Beach Post, a mother was arrested for biting her son:

LAKELAND, FLA. — A Lakeland mother has been arrested for child abuse after family members said she bit her son.

Police investigated 26-year-old Ann Marie Kane after Department of Children and Families officials reported three adult-sized bite marks on her son. According to an arrest report, Kane admitted biting the boy in the past because he was biting his siblings.

DCF has investigated Kane several times in the past. They removed the children from her care during the most recent investigation. She was being held in the Polk County Jail on Saturday.

Child Abuse and the Law

According to Florida Statute 827.03Child abuse means:

  • The intentional infliction of physical or mental injury upon a child;
  • An intentional act that could reasonably be expected to result in physical or mental injury to a child; or
  • Active encouragement of any person to commit an act that results or could reasonably be expected to result in physical or mental injury to a child.

If a person knowingly abuses a child and does not cause great bodily harm, permanent disfigurement or disability to the child, will be charged with a third-degree felony. The sentence for this crime can be up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Child Abuse Criminal Defense

There is no excuse for committing a crime against a child. However, if you have been charged with child abuse, you still have rights to a fair trial with experienced criminal representation. A criminal defense lawyer will protect your rights throughout the legal process and answer any questions you may have about your case. Child abuse is a serious crime, if you have been charged with child abuse, you need to contact a criminal defense lawyer immediately because you could be facing five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Share this Article

This entry was posted in Domestic Violence, Florida News, and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *