Who Reports Child Abuse?
Child abuse or neglect in Florida is an extremely serious crime. If you are accused of child abuse, you could be facing a serious misdemeanor or felony charge. A child in the state of Florida is defined as someone under the age of 18 years old. Abuse can be anything from physical harm, sexual harm, emotional harm, or even the threat of imminent danger. Child abuse is usually reported when a witness of some kind reports suspicion to the Department of Children and Families.
Child Abuse in Boynton Beach
According to WPTV News, a man in Boynton Beach was arrested on Monday and charged with child abuse. He was caught by surveillance cameras punching his daughter in the eye by Boynton Beach High School. Terry Devon Adderley, 35, posted a $3,000 surety bond on Monday and left the Palm Beach County Jail at 9:49 p.m.
According to the probable cause affidavit, a Palm Beach County School District police officer was approached on Friday at 5:26 p.m. by a student who reported that a father had punched his daughter in the eye.
On Monday, when the girl, whose name is withheld in the report, returned to school, she had a bruised black left eye, according to the affidavit. The girl told the officer that her father “grabbed her by the shirt and hair and eventually hit her in the eye.”
Other witnesses reported that they saw Adderley and his daughter exchanging blows, after he punched her.
Child Abuse Criminal Defense
Child abuse and neglect are crimes taken extremely seriously in Florida. If you have been accused of either one of these crimes you need to consult a criminal defense lawyer immediately. Not only are witnesses the first people to report cases of child abuse, but there are people required by law to do so. These people include physicians, school teachers, and even mental health professionals. A criminal defense lawyer is the only person that can guarantee that your rights are protected throughout the process.